Books that Change the Heart and Mind: Wonder

Instead of a favorite quote here is a little vide clip made about the book, enjoy! https://www.goodreads.com/videos/33475-wonder

wonder

Wonder written by R.J, Palacio

published by Corgi Childrens in January 2013

Blurb: You can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.
My name is August. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.
August Pullman wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old. He does ordinary things. He eats ice cream. He plays on his Xbox. He feels ordinary – inside.
But Auggie is far from ordinary. Ordinary kids don’t make other ordinary kids run away screaming in playgrounds. Ordinary kids don’t get stared at wherever they go.
Born with a terrible facial abnormality, Auggie has been home-schooled by his parents his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, he’s being sent to a real school – and he’s dreading it. All he wants is to be accepted – but can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, underneath it all?
Narrated by Auggie and the people around him whose lives he touches forever, Wonder is a funny, frank, astonishingly moving debut to read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.

My take on it: Oh my heart! This was such an amazing book. I liked the use of the word frank in the blurb. It doesn’t really sugar coat, but in such a natural way. The story just feels real. I loved the different points of view coming from many of the characters. Auggie’s story touched me through all the different roles I play in my life, sister, mother, friend …human. I was crying, laughing… laughing and crying. I felt anxiety and pride. This is one of those books that makes you want to be a better person and one that everyone should read! That is why it is on my favorites shelf!

Leave a comment