Battle of the Books

My kids started this year off in a new school, and hey, so did I! I’m lucky enough to have a part-time job there helping kids with reading, language arts, and some math. There have been some fun new things that we have enjoyed about the new school. Our teachers, principal, techs and PTA are great.

2017-27-3--22-41-25.png

 

One new programs that we hadn’t done before is called “Battle of the Books”. The kids that participate are 3rd & 4th graders, and 5th & 6th graders. Here is how it works: At the beginning of the year students are given a list of 20 books (3rd & 4th grade have one list of 20 and 5th & 6th have another list of 20). The kids in each class are broken up into teams and each kid in the team is assigned 5 books from the list to read. However, a kid can read as many books from the list as they want. Then in the spring they will have quiz battles with their fellow students to see which teams can earn the most points. They’re quizzed on information from all the books and they must answer with the correct Title and Author. The first 2 days of the battles 3rd and 4th grade teams will battle each other. Their battles are based on points only and after the battles they can look at their scores in list from 1st place on down. Then the next two days the 5th and 6th graders battle. Their competition has more at stake. The first day all teams battle. The next day there is an elimination bracket. And the last two teams standing will battle on the 5th day. The winning teams from both age groups will battle the winning teams from a nearby school.

If this doesn’t already sound exciting to you, well take my word for it, it is! For this week those of us that work as Techs at the school help run the battles under the direction of our great librarians and PTA president. It was a lot of fun, and let me tell you what else, the kids had great sportsmanship! There were some students who were a little down about losing, but all of them tried to be nice and congratulate each other.

Sorry for the length of this post, but I am getting there… So I have a 5th grader this year! It was super exciting to have him participate. His team did not go to the end, but they made it to the 3rd bracket the 2nd day! Good job “Taco Bombs” (yep that was their team name)!

My son read 6 books from the list and his whole team together read all but 1.5 of the 20 books. I was impressed with the lists. The books ranged from funny to adventurous to heartfelt. In the collage are the 6 books that he read and I highly recommend them for your 5th or 6th graders or older! I read City of Ember and Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone with him in full. (Eeepp! Yes! I have been waiting and waiting to share Harry Potter with my kids!) I was also able to read some of Worth and most of Summer of the Monkeys, which turned out to be my son’s favorite one. Next year I will have a 3rd grader and 6th grader and I am going to try to get them to read all 20 if possible. I think having seen the Battle of the Books and now knowing what it is all about might help me in this endeavour. Wish me luck!

One thought on “Battle of the Books

  1. Pingback: City of Ember | readbetweenthebindings

Leave a Reply

