The Stories We Take With Us by Wendy Scalfaro

Just thought this was such a great post from Nerdy Book Club!

Nerdy Book Club

“What about my books?” my mom asked. She was in hospice, and still coherent. Although that would last only another day or two.

“Do you want me to take care of them?” I asked.

She nodded.

“What do you want me to do with them? Donate them?”

“I don’t know.” She closed her eyes. This question was too much for her to contemplate at this point.

“I’ll go through them, and save some for the children.” This seemed to satisfy her.

While my older brother took care of the legal and financial details of our mother’s final days, I knew that, as the librarian, I was in charge of deciding what to do with her book collection when she died.

Less than a week later, I started my task. I saved the Stephen King hardcovers. He was a favorite author of Mom’s and mine, and we shared his books constantly…

View original post 789 more words

Leave a Reply

