A Long Walk to Water: Based on a true story

5th Review from My Best Loved Books: Books that Change the Heart and Mind

A Favorite Quote : “One step at a time, one day at a time, just today, just this day to get through.” – Linda Sue Park, A Long Walk to Water: Based on a True Story

walk

A Long Walk to Water written by: Linda Sue Park

Published by: Clarion Books in November 2010

Blurb:

The New York Times bestseller A Long Walk to Water begins as two stories, told in alternating sections, about two eleven-year-olds in Sudan, a girl in 2008 and a boy in 1985. The girl, Nya, is fetching water from a pond that is two hours’ walk from her home: she makes two trips to the pond every day. The boy, Salva, becomes one of the “lost boys” of Sudan, refugees who cover the African continent on foot as they search for their families and for a safe place to stay. Enduring every hardship from loneliness to attack by armed rebels to contact with killer lions and crocodiles, Salva is a survivor, and his story goes on to intersect with Nya’s in an astonishing and moving way.

My take on it:

I guess the reason that this is on my best loved list is because of how eye opening it was to me. I don’t think of myself as totally oblivious to the world, but it made me dive into the very real struggles in Sundan. This is a story that really makes you appreciate what you have. Honestly, I even felt a little embarrassed for myself for not realizing that in the year 2008 and even now there are areas of the world that struggle each day for something that is easily at my finger tips. It took me out of the comfortable and cushy life that I live and helped me to see some of the true difficulties that others lives through. It reminded me not to take too much for granted and reminded me the good it does to reach out and help those in need. It was a short yet captivating read with a very powerful message. Besides having a great message it was a very entertaining read. (Another good one to read with your kids when they are mature enough! I certainly plan to!)

Leave a Reply

