My Best Loved Books : Books that Change the Heart and Mind

There is power in books. You’ve heard this before, but I’ll say it again and add my testimony to that of others. Reading is good for us for many different reasons. It is an important tool in learning for young and old. It keeps our mind sharp and it forces us to use our imaginations in a way we don’t have to when we watch a movie or television. And what is best? It’s entertaining!

I’ve been known to stay up …let’s just say way past my bedtime. I’ve made deals with myself such as: I can read one page for every 10 items of laundry I fold, because I just can’t put the book down! A good mystery keeps you trying to work out the puzzle for yourself. A good adventure gets your heart beating and leaves your thirsting for the next page. Books can also make us feel empathy, make us examine ourselves and resolve to learn and change. Most stories have a moral. Not all of these are obvious, but I believe that there is something to learn from each one whether it is a sappy romance, a Y.A. vampire series, or a fantastic historical fiction.

These are the thoughts that provoked me to write this particular post. It will be one in a many post series that I’ll end up writing.

BOOKS THAT CHANGE OUR HEARTS AND MINDS

So this is a list of some of the most truly touching stories that I have read. They’re the kind that brought sad or happy tears to my eyes (sometimes both), or made my mind grow wider with thoughts. They made me look at things from a different perspective. They are not in any particular order, of course, there is no way they could be! They each bring something unique to the table.

bookcollage1

Okay for Now – by Gary D. Schmidt

The Help – by Kathryn Stockett

Ender’s Game: Speaker for the Dead – by Orson Scott Card

Code Name Verity – by Elizabeth Wein

Inside Out and Back Again – by Thanhha Lai

Wonder -by R.J. Palacio

A long Walk to Water: Based on a True Story – by Linda Sue Park

I’ll be posting some short reviews on these books in the next few days! I know that there are so many great books out there. What are some of your favorites?

Leave a Reply

